“The Terror” Hits Stores April 1

Nicky Hug

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

In what might be an elaborate (and early) April Fools Prank – I wouldn’t put it past a band that sold gummy skulls and fetuses – The Flaming Lips have announced the release of their 13th proper studio album, The Terror. The album, set for release on April 1, is the first since 2009’s Embryonic. With The Terror, The Flaming Lips return to the true studio album format after an odd-assortment of albums, singles, and gummy-related merchandise including 2009’s Dark Side of the Moon cover album.


Lead singer and primary songwriter Wayne Coyne had this to say about the upcoming release:


“Why would we make this music that is The Terror– this bleak, disturbing record…?? I don’t really want to know the answer that I think is coming: that WE were hopeless, WE were disturbed and, I think, accepting that some things are hopeless… or letting hope in one area die so that hope can start to live in another?? Maybe this is the beginning of the answer.”


Bleak and disturbing sounds like a stray from past excursions by the Flaming Lips but if there is one thing that the Flaming Lips have proved in their 30 years of existence its that they can morph their sound and still remain relevant. This is definitely something to be excited for, you can find the tracklist below.


The Terror:
01. Look…The Sun Is Rising
02. Be Free, A Way
03. Try To Explain
04. You Lust
05. The Terror
06. You Are Alone
07. Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die
08. Turning Violent
09. Always There…In Our Hearts

Print Friendly

Facebook Comments

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.

“The Terror” Hits Stores April 1